Under-20 League Set For Weekend Kick-off

  • Fri, Sep 12, 2008 @ 10:48

The new Dr. Tony O'Neill eircom League of Ireland Under-20 League kicks off this weekend, with the 22 eircom League sides joined by four more clubs in four regionalised groups.

Kilkenny City, which resigned its senior League of Ireland membership earlier this year, neighbours FC Carlow and Galway intermediate pair Salthill Devon and Mervue United join the 22 senior clubs in the League.

The inaugural season of the Under-20 League will run until the end of January 2009, with the top two teams from each regionalised group to qualify for the quarter-finals and the remainder of the competition being decided on an open draw knock-out basis.

Director of the eircom League of Ireland Fran Gavin said: “One of our primary objectives is to improve both player and club pathway into the eircom League of Ireland.

“The Under-20 league, as well as the A Championship, has a very important role to play in terms of bringing top quality young players through into the senior eircom League of Ireland set-up.

“The A Championship has been very successful and we now look forward to the Under-20 league commencing. I would particularly like to welcome Kilkenny City back to eircom League of Ireland football and welcome FC Carlow as they begin their first steps on Irish football's senior ladder.”

Dr. Tony O'Neill Under-20 eircom League of Ireland:

Pool 1: St Patrick's Athletic, Bray Wanderers, Shamrock Rovers, UCD, Kildare County, Athlone Town, Longford Town

Pool 2: Cork City, Cobh Ramblers, Limerick 37, Waterford United, Wexford Youths, Kilkenny City, FC Carlow

Pool 3: Derry City, Finn Harps, Sligo Rovers, Mervue United, Salthill Devon, Galway United

Pool 4: Dundalk, Drogheda United, Shelbourne, Bohemians, Monaghan United, Sporting Fingal

Next Fixture

Limerick / October 19th @ 7:45pm
Competition: League
Venue: Markets Field

League Goals

Jake Keegan


Conan Byrne


Dean Clarke


Ryan Brennan


Thomas Byrne


League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
2Cork City3471
3Shamrock Rovers3459
4Waterford FC3456
5St. Patrick's Athletic3444
6Bohemian FC3343
7Derry City3342
8Sligo Rovers3338
10Bray Wanderers3315