Maguire Says Farewell To Saints

  • Fri, Nov 09, 2007 @ 22:07

The club are disappointed to announce that Darragh Maguire has decided not to take up the offer of a full time contract with the club and he has made the decision to move on. Darragh has given the club great service and we wish him well and thank him for his dedication and commitment over the years. He has been part and parcel of the clubs activities over the eight years he was with the club and we are sad he has made his decision.

The contracts of Michael Foley and Sean O'Connor have also expired and both players are now available to sign for other clubs. Both have played a valued part in the clubs progress in recent seasons, but need more regular football at this stage of their careers.

Keith Barker's short term contract is also up and while he scored a few vital goals for us unfortunately his progress has been hindered by injuries and its imperative he gets some games under his belt quickly.

Michael Macek will return to his Czech Club FC Mast with whom we had a loam agreement until now. Unfortunately Michael did not get the opportunities to display his undoubted qualities on a more regular basis.

While its sad to see these players leave the club on the plus side, the resigning of Brendan Clarke, Barry Ryan, Ryan Guy and Mark Quigley along with the recruitment of former Drogheda United and Bohs player Damien Lynch shows we have been busy and the faith players have in the clubs development. Damien served his time at Leeds United and was a regular underage international. Since returning to Ireland he has collected a bagful of winners' medals at Bohemians and Drogheda. A very adoptable defender and midfielder he will prove a tremendous addition to our squad.

The club is currently involved in negotiations with other potential signings and are also striving to identify other top quality players to add to our squad.

Next Fixture

UCD / June 28th @ 7:45pm
Venue: The UCD Bowl

Latest Tweets

League Table

Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers2144
Bohemian FC2137
Derry City2031
St Patrick's Athletic2231
Sligo Rovers2126
Cork City2124
Waterford FC1823
Finn Harps2210