• Mon, May 12, 2008 @ 12:16

In brilliant sunshine our Under 18's completed a Pats cup double. The 18s's added The Ferrari Cup to the Fenlon Cup won earlier in the day by our Under 15s.

The Saints played the better football in the 1st half and created numerous chances but failed to take advantage allowing Crumlin United to keep a foothold in the game. On 35 minutes Pats finally broke the deadlock. A goalmouth scramble delivered the 1st goal of the game. Stephen Fitzpatrick getting the last touch to force the ball over the line.

Ryan's lads kept the pressure on but Crumlin nearly equalized just at the break hitting a free kick just over.

Crumlin started the 2nd half strongly and kept the ball well, making Pats work hard in the heat. The Saints however were determined not to let their lead slip having learned a harsh lesson in a recent FAI Cup tie with Dundalk.

Crumlin's early pressure nearly paid off when Robert Douglas unleashed a cracking shot from 25 yards forcing Mark Gibbons to stretch to keep the ball out of the top corner.

Gibbon's save seemed to inspire his team-mates as they began to push on. Excellent work from Andy Haran when chasing down a lost cause, kept the ball in play, for his strike partner Jason Olabedle to score, 2-0.

Crumlin began pushing forward looking to get back in the game but a brave tackle by Stephen Fitzpatrick who injured himself in the process, won the ball to release Roy Gilmore, he found Alan McGrath in space and it was 3-0 and game over.

“It was no more than the lads deserve and I'd like to thank them for their effort this season,“ said manager Alan Ryan. "I'd also like to thank Brian Dalton, Ken Fagan and Dave Dowling for their help during the season."

Next Fixture

Newcastle United / July 17th @ 7:45pm
Competition: Friendly
Venue: Richmond Park

League Goals

Jake Keegan


Conan Byrne


Dean Clarke


Thomas Byrne


Kevin Toner


League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
2Cork City2557
3Waterford FC2544
4Shamrock Rovers2537
5Derry City2536
6St. Patrick's Athletic2530
7Bohemian FC2425
8Sligo Rovers2323
10Bray Wanderers2412