• Mon, Mar 01, 2010 @ 15:30

St Pat's will look to build on their impressive 1-1 draw with Linfield in the Setanta Cup when they kick off their season in the newly named Airtricity League against a very familiar looking Galway United side on Friday.

Saints fans will recognise a number of former Pat's players who now line out for the Galway side.

Keeper Barry Ryan, who made over 100 appearances for St. Pats, will be between the posts for United.

Ryan, who left Pats after the 2008 season, was voted the Galway United Supporters Trust player of the year in 2009.

Alongside former Saints midfielder Derek O'Brien will the experienced winger Bobby Ryan who recently joined United, following two seasons at Richmond Park.

The Tribesmen have been very busy throughout the pre-season capturing the signings of Rhys Meynell (Chester City) and former Accrington Stanley centre back Bee Ami.

Following a tight 0-0 draw with Limerick, Galway completed their preparations for the start of the 2010 season last week with an encouraging 0-1 defeat to a strong Hull City side.

A first half strike from former Liverpool and Leeds midfielder Nick Barmby was enough to secure a victory against the men in maroon at Terryland Park.

The first game of the season will also provide Pat's striker Vinny Faherty and defender Shane Guthrie with an opportunity to face their old team mates.

Both joined St Pat's after impressing at Galway last season and they will be eager to put one over on their former teammates.

Saints fans will no doubt remember this as the fixture that kicked off the 2009 season, with the Galway men walking away with a convincing 3-0 victory in Richmond Park.

Pete Mahon will be hoping his newly formed Pats side can reverse that scoreline to begin the new season on a high.

St. Pats V Galway United kicks off at 7.45pm in Richmond Park this Friday 5th March.

Tickets on sale from club shop on Emmet Road

New In Our Online Store

Next Fixture

Derry City / July 20th @ 2:00pm
Venue: Aileach FC

Latest Tweets

League Table

Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers2448
Bohemian FC2542
Derry City2437
St Patrick's Athletic2537
Sligo Rovers2531
Cork City2426
Waterford FC2224
Finn Harps2514