• Tue, Nov 09, 2010 @ 15:41

The club are delighted to announce that Chris Bennion has resigned for the 2011 season. STPATSFC.COM spoke to Chris on his decision to sign for the Saints for next season:

Since signing back in July I've enjoyed the whole experience at the club. It was disappointing not too have made more first team appearances but in fairness Gary (Rogers) was playing in top form and he stayed injury free for nearly of the season.

As I say I really enjoyed the experience of working alongside Pete, John and the rest of the players.

On the goalkeeping side, Gary is a great lad to work with and Brian O' Shea is one of the best coaches I've worked with since I've come to Ireland.

I had a few games at the end of the season and it was nice to get a taste again of playing in the Premier division.

From my time with Dundalk in the Premier I felt I performed well but you do need to be focused on being consistent from game to game - the level is definitely more intense as the first division tends to be that bit flatter.

From speaking to Pete, it's going to be a clean slate for all players next season so there will be eleven starting places to play for.

Hopefully my ability will see me getting the number 1 jersey at an early stage but if not I'm prepared to bide my time, keep the belief in myself and take the opportunity when it comes.

Working in the airport means I'm in for a busy end of year time but at least signing for St Pat's at this stage means I can enjoy the break and straightaway I can start preparing for next season.

Chris Bennion is looking forward to attending the St Patrick's Athletic Supporters' Club Player of the Year night on 20th November in The Spa Hotel, Lucan.

Tickets are priced at €20 and are on sale at the Saint Superstore on Emmet Road - all supporters are welcome to attend on the night.

New In Our Online Store

Next Fixture

Athlone Town / November 13th @ 7:45pm
Competition: Leinster Senior Cup
Venue: Richmond Park

Latest Tweets

League Table

Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers3675
Bohemian FC3660
Derry City3657
St Patrick's Athletic3652
Waterford FC3643
Sligo Rovers3642
Cork City3637
Finn Harps3628