Saints Are Champions!

  • Mon, Oct 14, 2013 @ 11:33

Saint Patrick's Athletic were crowned 2013 Airtricity League champions after a superb 2-0 win against last year's champions Sligo Rovers after goals from Greg Bolger and Anto Flood.

The game was a tight contest for the opening 30 minutes with both having threatened. Sligo threatened in the fifth minute as an Evan McMillan header was well saved by Brendan Clarke, while for the Saints after Gary Rogers' backpass fell loose to Daryl Kavanagh, his quickfire shot missed the target.

However a goal befitting the occasion arrived on 32 minutes to please the majority of the 3,211 present. After Sligo half-cleared a Conan Byrne cross, Greg Bolger picked the ball up 25 yards out before arrowing a superb shot into the top corner of Rogers' net.

The Saints went close to doubling their lead on 41 minutes as after a John Russell foul on the edge of the box, Killian Brennan saw his free tipped around the post by Rogers.

However the Richmond Roar was to be heard all around the Inchicore area just a minute later as the Saints doubled their lead just 60 seconds later. Conan Byrne's ball released the onrushing John Russell and his inch perfect pull back found Flood who had the simplest of finishes from just three yards out.

The second half returned to being another close affair, and it was Sligo who threatened late on in their attempts to comeback. Saints' keeper Clarke was called upon on 74 minutes to make a fantastic double save, first denying Alan Keane and then the follow up from David Cawley.

And with six minutes remaining, it seemed destined to be the Saints day as after a high ball into the box went past Clarke, man of the match Greg Bolger was on hand to clear the ball off the line.

As the final whistle went shortly after, the celebrations began as the Saints were 2013 crowned Airtricity League champions.

Next Fixture

Bray Wanderers / February 23rd @ 7:45pm
Competition: League
Venue: Carlisle Grounds

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Bohemian FC13
2Cork City13
3Waterford FC13
4Bray Wanderers11
6Sligo Rovers00
8St. Patrick's Athletic10
9Derry City10
10Shamrock Rovers10