SIX Saints In Paul Osam's Ireland U16 Squad

  • Thu, Apr 25, 2019 @ 15:26

Saints' legend and Republic of Ireland Under-16 Head Coach Paul Osam has named a 20-man squad for the upcoming Under-16 UEFA Development Tournament in Israel, which includes SIX young Supersaints from our academy.

Goalkeeper Josh Keeley, defender Daragh Reilly and midfielders Jamie Doyle, Kyle Martin-Conway, Ben McCormack and Glory Nzingo are all included in a squad which will play against hosts Israel, Ukraine and Fiji over the space of five days along the Mediterranean coast in Shefayim.

"It has been a good season. The Development Tournament is a culmination of the work the lads have done throughout the year. We have players coming in for the first time, including lads that did very well at the Under-15s. It will be a big challenge, travelling to Israel," Osam, a former midfielder who was signed for the club under former Republic of Ireland Senior manager Brian Kerr, said.

"Israel are in our group for next season's Under-17 Qualifying Round, so that's an added bonus. The games are this November. It'll give me a great opportunity to see them up close, and pass on my knowledge to Colin O'Brien. This group will be playing them later this year."

Ireland begin their Development Tournament on Monday morning, against hosts Israel.

UEFA Under-16 Development Tournament Fixtures
29 April: Israel v Republic of Ireland, Shefayim, 11am (9am Irish time)
1 May: Fiji v Republic of Ireland, Shefayim, 3pm (1pm Irish time)
3 May: Republic of Ireland v Ukraine, Shefayim, 9.30pm (7.30am Irish time)

Republic of Ireland Under-16 Squad:
Josh Keeley (St Patrick's Athletic), Daniel Rose (Everton)

Fionnan Coyle (Finn Harps), Oisin Hand (Shamrock Rovers), Cian Kelly (Bohemians), Gavin O'Brien (Bohemians), Kevin Platon (Shamrock Rovers), Daragh Reilly (St Patrick's Athletic) , Adam Wells (Shamrock Rovers)

Colin Conroy (Bohemians), Oran Crowe (Cork City), Andrew Moran (Bray Wanderers), Jamie Doyle (St Patrick's Athletic), Kyle Martin-Conway (St Patrick's Athletic), Ben McCormack (St Patrick's Athletic), Glory Nzingo (St Patrick's Athletic)

Sinclair Armstrong (Shamrock Rovers), Evan Ferguson (Bohemians), Calum Kavanagh (Middlesbrough), Robbie Mahon (Bohemians)

New In Our Online Store

Next Fixture

Norrkoping / July 18th @ 7:00pm
Venue: Nya Parken

Latest Tweets

League Table

Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers2448
Bohemian FC2442
Derry City2437
St Patrick's Athletic2537
Sligo Rovers2531
Cork City2426
Waterford FC2224
Finn Harps2514