Match Report

Match Info

Date: 01/06/2010
Competition: League Cup
Venue: The Showgrounds

Home Team

Richard Brush; Alan Keane, Gavin Peers, Danny Ventre (captain), Iarfhlaith Davoren; Eoin Doyle, Richie Ryan, John Russell (Conor O’Grady 60), Joh

Away Team

Dan Connor; Damian Lynch (captain), Shane Guthrie (Neil Harney 84), Conor Kenna, Ian Bermingham (Noel Haverty ht); Conor Sinnott, David Mulcahy, David McAllister, Derek Doyle (Ryan Guy 75); Alex Williams, Paul Byrne.


Referee: Neil Doyle (Dublin).

Goal Scorers

Yellow Cards

Red Cards

Sligo Rovers 4 - St Patrick's Athletic 1

Sligo Rovers are through to the semi-finals of the EA Sports League Cup after a 4-1 defeat of St Pat's at The Showgrounds.

Rovers, who named an unchanged side from that which defeated Bray Wanderers last weekend, opened the scoring on 21 minutes, when Richie Ryan's expertly-floated free-kick was headed home by John Russell at the back post.

They doubled their advantage with a brilliant second on the half-hour, as the home side worked a number of passes to prise open the Saints defence.

Ndo raced onto Padraig Amond's flick over the top and fired to the net.

Pat's improved after this and David McAllister saw a header come back off the post before the break.

They got their goal on 70 minutes, when Conor Sinnott forced the ball home after a scramble in the Rovers box.

But, after Gavin Peers had a header acrobatically saved by Connor, Rovers got their third with four minutes left as Gary McCabe picked out Eoin Doyle to finish.

Padraig Amond wrapped up the win in injury-time with his eighth goal in the last four home games.